Data accessed: September 5, 2026 · Editorial Policy
Pet Insurance Fine Print Index 2026
This index compares 16 policy terms across 13 US pet insurance companies: waiting periods, bilateral exclusion clauses, curable pre-existing windows, enrollment age limits, exam-fee rules, and what the base plan covers. Every cell links to the insurer's own website, help center, or sample policy document, accessed on September 5, 2026. Pet insurance terms vary by state and by the specific plan you choose, so treat every figure here as a starting point for your own quote, not a substitute for reading your policy certificate. This page sits alongside our full pet insurance comparison hub.
Key findings
- Bilateral condition clauses are close to universal: 11 of the 13 insurers in this index confirm that a condition on one side of a paired body part, most often the cruciate ligament, hip, elbow, or kneecap, makes the same condition on the other side pre-existing, even if it first appears after enrollment.
- Most insurers offer a path back to coverage: 10 of the 13 confirm an exception for curable pre-existing conditions, and 9 of those state the symptom-free window, most commonly 180 days or 12 months. Odie states that no such exception exists, and Trupanion decides case by case. Nearly all of the 9 exclude ligament, knee, and chronic conditions from the exception.
- Orthopedic conditions get a longer clock: 8 of the 12 insurers whose policies state both figures set a longer waiting period for orthopedic or cruciate conditions than for ordinary illness claims; the other 4 apply the same waiting period to both.
- That longer clock can sometimes be shortened: 7 of the 13 insurers confirm that the orthopedic waiting period can be waived, typically by having a veterinarian examine the pet shortly after enrollment and confirm no pre-existing signs.
- Direct payment to the vet is rare: only 2 of the 13 insurers, Trupanion and Pumpkin, confirm they can pay the veterinarian directly, and one more, Odie, confirms it can do so only where it already has a payment arrangement with that specific clinic. The remaining 10 operate on a reimbursement model.
- Exam fee coverage splits three ways: 6 of the 13 insurers include exam fees in the base plan, 5 offer them only as an optional add-on, and 2, Healthy Paws and Trupanion, do not cover them at all.
- Dental illness coverage is close to standard: 11 of the 12 insurers whose policy states it cover non-routine dental illness under at least some conditions, and Lemonade does so only through a paid add-on. Nationwide is the one insurer in this index whose cell is classified as an exclusion, though its own Modular Plan covers dental disease if signs first appear after the waiting period.
- Eight weeks is the most common minimum enrollment age, stated by 7 of the 12 insurers whose policy gives one; Odie and Pets Best accept 7 weeks, Embrace and Fetch accept 6 weeks, and Nationwide depends on the plan.
For the fuller definition of a pre-existing condition and how look-back periods work, see our Pre-Existing Conditions guide.
Waiting periods
A waiting period is the number of days after a policy starts before a claim in that category becomes eligible. Orthopedic and cruciate conditions frequently carry a separate, longer clock than ordinary accidents and illnesses. For a plain-language walkthrough of how these periods work, see our Waiting Periods Explained.
| Insurer | Accident waiting period | Illness waiting period | Orthopedic/cruciate waiting period | Orthopedic waiver available |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lemonade Pet | 0 days 1 | 14 days 1 | 30 days 1 | Not stated |
| Healthy Paws | Not stated | 15 days after policy effective date 2 | Hip dysplasia: 12 months (pets enrolled at age 5 or below); 15 days for other orthopedic/illness/injury conditions not from accident in listed states, 30 days for hip dysplasia in those states 2 | yes, waived upon completion of a complete clinical examination (stated for CA/DE/FL/HI/LA/MD/ME/MS/MT/NE/NH/OH/PA/RI/VT/WA) 2 |
| Odie Pet Insurance | 0 days: CA, DE, LA, MD, ME, MS, NE, NH, OH, PA, WA, and MT. 3 days: ND, OR, VT, and all remaining states. 3† | 14 days (all states, Trisura Unexpected Illness & Injury plan) 3 | 30 days (most states); 120 days in VT; 6 months in remaining states, for Cruciate Ligament Events (CLE) 3 | Not stated |
| Trupanion | 5 days 4 | 30 days 4 | 30 days (same as illness; no separate orthopedic waiting period) 4 | not applicable - no separate orthopedic waiting period exists to waive 4 |
| Embrace Pet Insurance | Not stated | 14 days 5 | Orthopedic waiting periods vary by state (see Embrace's state-specific waiting periods page); the official help article does not state a universal '6 months' duration. It separately notes a 180-day symptom exclusion for IVDD, cruciate ligament injury, patellar luxation, and hip dysplasia in dogs. 6 | yes, via Orthopedic Exam and Waiver Process, reducible to as few as 14 days 6 |
| Pets Best | 3 days 7 | 14 days 7 | 6 months (for Cruciate Ligament Events, per this sample national policy form) 7 | yes, via a vet Health Assessment Exam within a set window, submitted within 30 days 8 |
| Figo Pet Insurance | 1 day (national standard); 5 days in California 9 | 14 days (national); 14 days confirmed in California disclosure too 10 | 6 months for dogs (from Original Start Date) 9 | yes, via Orthopedic Waiver Form completed by a vet and submitted within 30 days of the policy effective date 9 |
| Fetch Pet Insurance | 0 days 11 | 15 days 11 | 180 days 11 | yes, for knee conditions only, via vet exam within 180 days confirming no pre-existing knee condition 11 |
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance | 14 days 12 | 14 days 12 | 14 days on current policy forms (12 months on older BAS-series forms in some states) 13 | Not stated |
| Spot Pet Insurance | 14 days 14 | 14 days 14 | 14 days (same as illness; policy uses the term "ligament and knee conditions", treated as illness) 14† | yes, via a Waiting Period Health Assessment exam completed within 3 days before to 7 days after the policy effective date, form submitted within 30 days 15 |
| Pumpkin Pet Insurance | 14 days 16 | 14 days 16 | 14 days (same as accident/illness; policy groups it under "ligament and knee conditions", not a separately named "orthopedic" category) 16 | yes, in states offering the endorsement (e.g. Washington), if a vet exam occurs 3 days before to 7 days after the policy effective date and the Waiting Period Assessment Form is submitted within 30 days 17 |
| MetLife Pet Insurance | 0 days 18 | 14 days 18 | no separate period; same as accident/illness (0/14 days) 18 | Not stated |
| Nationwide Pet Insurance | 14 days 19 | 14 days 20 | 12 months for cruciate ligament/meniscal damage (first policy term); hip/elbow dysplasia and related joint conditions are excluded conditions rather than a timed waiting period 21 | no formal exam-based waiver stated; hip/elbow dysplasia and other 'ineligible conditions' can instead be added via optional Hereditary & Congenital rider 20 |
Pre-existing condition rules
A pre-existing condition is any illness or injury that showed signs before coverage started or during the waiting period. Two rules decide how strictly that gets applied: whether a condition on one side of a paired body part is treated as pre-existing on the other side, and whether a cured, symptom-free condition can eventually be reclassified as coverable. For the full definition and how look-back periods work, see our Pre-Existing Conditions guide.
| Insurer | Bilateral condition clause | Curable pre-existing symptom-free window |
|---|---|---|
| Lemonade Pet | yes: bilateral exclusion 22 | yes, 12 months symptom-free (excludes knee/ligament and chronic conditions) 23 |
| Healthy Paws | yes: bilateral exclusion, but only for cruciate ligament conditions 2 | yes, 365 days (12 months) continuously symptom-free and untreated 2 |
| Odie Pet Insurance | yes: if a bilateral condition (incl. cruciate ligament events, hip/elbow dysplasia, luxating patellas) occurred on either side pre-enrollment or during the waiting period, the condition on the other side is also deemed pre-existing 24 | no - pre-existing conditions are excluded for the lifetime of the policy; no symptom-free reclassification window is stated 3 |
| Trupanion | yes: for cruciate conditions, the opposite (or same) leg is treated as pre-existing if signs occurred within 18 months before the policy effective date 25 | no defined general symptom-free window; eligibility is determined case-by-case via a 'medical disconnect' review (18-month lookback specifically for cruciate conditions) 26 |
| Embrace Pet Insurance | yes: bilateral exclusion if first side occurred before/during initial waiting window 27 | yes, 12 consecutive months symptom-free and treatment-free 27 |
| Pets Best | yes: bilateral exclusion applies (includes cruciate ligament events, hip dysplasia, elbow dysplasia, luxating patella, and others) 7 | yes, once healed/cured - but the official page does not state a specific symptom-free day count 28 |
| Figo Pet Insurance | Not stated | yes, 12 months symptom/treatment-free; does not apply to ligament and knee conditions 9 |
| Fetch Pet Insurance | yes: bilateral orthopedic exclusion 11 | yes, 365 days (12 months) symptom-free 11 |
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance | yes: bilateral exclusion for ligament/knee conditions 13 | yes, 180 days symptom-free (except ligament/knee conditions) 13 |
| Spot Pet Insurance | yes: bilateral exclusion for ligament/knee conditions 14 | yes, 180 days symptom-free (does not apply to chronic conditions or ligament/knee conditions) 14 |
| Pumpkin Pet Insurance | yes: ligament and knee conditions are treated as bilateral - an occurrence on one side is treated as affecting both sides 16 | yes, 180 days symptom-free and treatment-free makes it a new occurrence; this exception does not apply to ligament and knee conditions 16 |
| MetLife Pet Insurance | yes: bilateral exclusion - other side can be classed pre-existing 29 | yes, if treatment-free and unrelated to prior incident (no specific day/month figure officially stated) 30† |
| Nationwide Pet Insurance | Not stated | yes, cured and treatment-free for at least 6 months (with supporting vet medical records) 31 |
Eligibility and plan structure
Enrollment ages, annual payout limits, deductible structure, and reimbursement percentage together set both the price and the ceiling of a policy. These figures reflect each insurer's flagship or most commonly cited plan; several insurers sell more than one plan tier with different numbers.
| Insurer | Minimum enrollment age | Maximum enrollment age | Annual limit options | Deductible type/amount | Reimbursement percentage options |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lemonade Pet | 8 weeks 32 | Not stated | $5,000 to $100,000 33 | annual: $100 / $250 / $500 / $750 34 | 70% / 80% / 90% 33 |
| Healthy Paws | 8 weeks 35 | Not stated | unlimited (no per-incident, annual, or lifetime caps) 2 | annual (specific dollar options not stated in official pages found) 2 | up to 90% (specific tier list e.g. 70/80/90% not stated in official pages found) 35 |
| Odie Pet Insurance | 7 weeks 3 | no upper age limit (current Trisura-underwritten plans) 3 | $10,000 to $40,000 (Illness & Injury plan); $10,000 fixed (Accident Only plan) 3 | annual: $100–$1,000 (Illness & Injury plan); $250 fixed (Accident Only plan) 3 | 70% or 90% (Illness & Injury); 90% fixed (Accident Only) 3 |
| Trupanion | Not stated | 14 years 36 | no annual limit (unlimited payouts for the life of the pet) 37 | Not stated | member selects a payout percentage at signup (changeable up or down in first 30 days, only decreasable after); exact percentage tiers not specified on the fetched official pages 38 |
| Embrace Pet Insurance | 6 weeks 39 | 14 years for accident & illness coverage; 15+ accident-only coverage available, no upper age limit for continuing coverage 39 | customer-selected annual maximum (no fixed tiered list stated on this page) 40 | annual (paid once per policy year, not per-condition or per-incident); accident-only plan has a $100 annual deductible 40 | customer-selected, typically 70-90% 40 |
| Pets Best | 7 weeks 41 | no upper age limit 41 | $2,500 / $5,000 / $10,000 / no annual limit 7 | annual: $50–$1,000 7 | 70/80/90% 7 |
| Figo Pet Insurance | 8 weeks 42 | no upper age limit 42 | $5,000 / $10,000 / Unlimited 43 | annual deductible: $100-$750 43 | 70% / 80% / 90% / 100% 44 |
| Fetch Pet Insurance | 6 weeks 11 | Not stated | $5,000 / $10,000 / $15,000 45 | annual (per policy period): $250-$2,500 46 | 70% / 80% / 90% 47 |
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance | 8 weeks 48 | no upper age limit 48 | not stated as a fixed list (customizable; illustrative example uses $3,000) 49 | annual: $100 / $250 / $500 12 | 70% / 80% / 90% 12 |
| Spot Pet Insurance | 8 weeks 50 | no upper age limit 50 | $2,500 / $3,000 / $4,000 / $5,000 / $7,000 / $10,000 / unlimited 51 | annual: $100 / $250 / $500 / $750 / $1,000 52 | 70% / 80% / 90% 51 |
| Pumpkin Pet Insurance | 8 weeks 53 | no upper age limit 53 | $5,000 up to unlimited 53 | annual (specific dollar amount options are set on the individual declarations page; the exact list of dollar figures could not be confirmed on the official pages/PDF checked) 16 | 90% confirmed as an available option on an official page; the full set of tiers (commonly reported elsewhere as 70/80/90%) could not be confirmed with an official quote 53 |
| MetLife Pet Insurance | 8 weeks 54 | no upper age limit 55 | $2,000 / $5,000 / $10,000 (up to unlimited on some plans) 56 | annual: $250-$2,500 (as low as $0 via claim-history reduction) 57 | up to 90% (80% shown as standard rate on plan pages) 57 |
| Nationwide Pet Insurance | 8 weeks (Modular Plan); 6 weeks (Major Medical) 58 | varies by plan: 8 years and younger for new Illness coverage (Modular Plan); 9 years and younger (Major Medical) 58 | varies by plan: $2,500 to $10,000 (Modular Plan), $5,000 (My Pet Protection Choice), $7,500 (My Pet Protection), $10,000 (Whole Pet); Major Medical uses defined per-condition benefit schedules instead of one annual limit 58 | annual deductible: $100-$1,000 (My Pet Protection Choice); $250 fixed on most other plans (Modular, My Pet Protection, Major Medical, Whole Pet) 58 | 50%, 70%, or 80% 58 |
What the base plan covers
Exam fees, dental illness, prescription food, and behavioral therapy are the four coverage points that most often move between "included," "optional add-on," and "not covered" from one insurer to the next.
| Insurer | Exam fees covered | Direct vet pay | Dental illness covered | Prescription food covered | Behavioral therapy covered |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lemonade Pet | optional add-on (vet visit fee add-on) 59 | no, reimbursement only 23 | yes, via Dental Illness / Dental Care add-on (not base policy) 59 | no 59 | optional add-on (behavioral conditions add-on) 59 |
| Healthy Paws | no 60 | no, reimbursement only by default; direct payment to vet available only by special advance request and vet cooperation, not at checkout 2 | yes with conditions (non-routine dental illness and injury covered; routine dental disease/preventive-care-related periodontal disease excluded) 61 | Not stated | no 60 |
| Odie Pet Insurance | optional add-on: Office Visits/Exam Fee coverage is a Supplemental Benefit available for additional premium, not automatically included 24 | conditional: reimbursement is the default model, but claims can be paid directly to the vet if Odie has an arrangement with that specific clinic 24 | yes with conditions: periodontal disease and traumatic dental fractures covered if eligibility requirements (age-based cleaning/exam history, no pre-existing signs) are met 3 | no under the Illness & Injury policy; reimbursed only under the separate optional Wellness Plan add-on (Purina products, up to $50/year) 3 | yes, included under the Illness & Injury policy (not a separate add-on) 3 |
| Trupanion | no 62 | yes, at participating (VetDirect Pay-enabled) hospitals 63 | yes, with conditions (annual dental exam and recommended dental care compliance required) 64 | yes, for eligible conditions: 50% of cost for up to 60 days, no added premium 65 | optional add-on: Recovery & Complementary Care rider, 90% reimbursement 66† |
| Embrace Pet Insurance | optional add-on, not included on all policies 40 | no, reimbursement only 67 | Yes - dental illness (periodontal disease, abscessed teeth, malocclusions, gingivitis, etc.) is covered under the base accident & illness plan, up to $1,000 per policy term; only preventative dental cleanings require the optional wellness plan 68 | covered under optional Wellness Care Plan add-on, not the base plan 40 | yes, when administered by a licensed veterinarian for a covered condition 40 |
| Pets Best | optional add-on (Supplemental Benefit); included on most plans but removable 69 | no, reimbursement-only (Vet Direct Pay routes the post-claim reimbursement to the vet, it is not point-of-service payment) 70 | yes with conditions (periodontal disease covered subject to age-based cleaning/exam requirements) 7 | no (pet foods are a listed exclusion; no prescription/therapeutic-diet carve-out found in official sources) 7 | no for training/treatment; optional add-on covers consultations and prescription medications only 7 |
| Figo Pet Insurance | optional add-on (Office Visit and Exam Fees Rider) 9 | no, reimbursement only 42 | yes, with conditions (must follow vet's dental-care advice; pre-existing dental disease and routine cleaning/prophylaxis excluded) 9 | optional add-on only, included with Office Visit and Exam Fees Rider, up to $250 per policy term 9 | optional add-on, up to $500 annually for diagnosis/treatment consultations 9 |
| Fetch Pet Insurance | yes, included 71 | no, reimbursement only 72 | yes 73 | no 74 | yes, up to $1,000/year, included at no extra charge 75 |
| ASPCA Pet Health Insurance | yes, included 12 | No, reimbursement-based model - the pet owner typically pays the vet at time of service and is reimbursed after filing a claim; a reimbursement check can optionally be routed to the vet practice, but only post-claim-approval, not at checkout. 76 | yes 77 | yes for covered conditions 77 | yes 77 |
| Spot Pet Insurance | yes, included in base plan 14 | no, reimbursement-based (policyholder is financially responsible to the vet; direct vet payment only possible post-claim if requested on the claim form) 14 | yes, dental illness treatment is covered - periodontal disease treatment, tooth root abscesses, and oral tumors are listed as typically covered under Spot's accident & illness plan; cosmetic/orthodontic dental work, routine cleanings, and preventive dental exams/X-rays are excluded unless an optional wellness add-on is purchased. 78 | yes, for treatment of a covered condition only (not for general maintenance/prevention) 14 | yes, if performed or referred by a veterinarian to a qualified behaviorist 14 |
| Pumpkin Pet Insurance | yes, included (no separate add-on) - vet examinations/consultations are eligible covered expenses 16 | yes, if indicated on the claim form, Pumpkin can pay the veterinarian directly 16 | yes with conditions - dental illness treatment (e.g. tooth extractions) is covered under illness benefits, but aesthetic/cosmetic/endodontic/orthodontic dental services (caps, crowns, fillings, implants, root canals, planing) and routine cleanings (unless treating a covered illness) are excluded 16† | yes, for treatment of a covered condition only - not for general health maintenance or prevention 16 | yes, when performed by a veterinarian or via written vet referral to a qualified animal behaviorist 16 |
| MetLife Pet Insurance | yes, included 57 | no, reimbursement only 57 | yes 55 | yes for covered conditions, vet-prescribed only 79 | optional add-on (Preventive Care) for behavior training; vet-directed behavioral treatment for a diagnosed condition may be covered under standard plan 55 |
| Nationwide Pet Insurance | yes, included 80 | no, reimbursement only 81 | no (permanently excluded) on Major Medical, Injury, Feline Select, and Whole Pet plans; on the Modular Plan, dental disease/periodontitis is covered if signs first appear after the waiting period 21 | yes, under certain plan types or via optional rider 81 | yes, if medically necessary and prescribed by a veterinarian (optional Behavioral coverage on the Modular Plan); pet obedience training and non-medically-necessary behavioral training are excluded; other plans (Major Medical, Injury, Feline Select) exclude behavioral diagnosis/treatment/therapy entirely 21 |
Compare quotes
If you want live pricing rather than policy language, two of the insurers in this index, Lemonade and Odie, run an affiliate program with CheckItAll. We may earn a commission if you get a quote through the links below, at no extra cost to you; that relationship does not change any figure in the tables above, each of which is cited to the insurer's own published policy language. Read our full Lemonade review or Odie review for the fuller picture beyond this table.
Advertising Disclosure: CheckItAll.net is an independent comparison site. We may receive compensation when you click links or sign up with partners featured on our site. This compensation may affect how and where products appear on this site. Our opinions are our own. Read our full disclosure.
How to read this table
A numbered superscript links to the matching entry in the Sources list below; follow it to the insurer's own page or policy document that states the value. A dagger (†) next to a number means the value was found on the insurer's own page but has not yet been independently re-checked in a second verification pass. "Not stated" means the insurer's public website, help center, and sample policy documents do not address that specific field; it is not a claim that no such term exists in your state's policy, only that we could not locate an official statement of it.
State and plan variations
The tables above show each insurer's flagship or most commonly cited plan. Several insurers flag their own state-by-state or plan-by-plan differences in the documents we reviewed.
Lemonade. Lemonade's own documentation notes several state-by-state differences: the claim filing window is 180 days in most states but only 90 days in Texas, its Dental Care add-on and Preventative+ dental options vary by state, its end-of-life add-on waiting period varies by state, and preventative care package availability and benefits vary by state.
Healthy Paws. Healthy Paws describes its own state-dependent variation as significant, particularly around which states qualify for the orthopedic waiting-period waiver shown in the table above; its public FAQ does not itemize every state-level difference beyond that list.
Pets Best. The figures shown here for Pets Best come from a generic national sample policy form, so a state-specific policy form you are actually issued may set different terms.
Figo. Figo confirms a concrete state variation: its accident waiting period is 5 days in California versus 1 day under its national policy.
Fetch. Fetch maintains separate state-specific policy forms for California, Alaska, and Arkansas; the figures in this index come from its generic national sample form.
ASPCA. ASPCA's own California residents' notice describes a state-specific difference between its current BAS-series and PET-P policy forms.
Pumpkin. Pumpkin's figures come from a generic national sample policy, and the orthopedic waiver process shown in the table is confirmed only for Washington through the company's own state notice page, so its availability elsewhere is not confirmed.
MetLife. MetLife's publicly posted sample policy is Ohio-specific, and the company's own pages show deductible and annual-limit figures that vary slightly from page to page.
Nationwide. Nationwide sells seven distinct plan structures; the figures in this index default to its flagship Modular Plan where possible, so a different Nationwide plan may set different terms.
Methodology
Sources for this index are limited to each insurer's own website, help center, and publicly posted sample policy documents; no third-party comparison sites, forums, or review aggregators were used as a source for any cell. Every value was accessed on September 5, 2026, and checked in two independent passes before publication. Where an insurer's live site blocked automated access, an archived copy from the Wayback Machine was used instead and is labeled as such in the Sources list below.
This index is a reference for comparing published policy language. It is not legal or insurance advice, and it does not replace reading your own policy certificate before you buy. Pet insurance terms frequently vary by state and by the specific plan you select, so treat every figure here as a starting point for your own quote. We review this index quarterly and update it when an insurer changes its public policy language.
Download the dataset (JSON), which includes every quoted excerpt and citation behind the tables above.
Sources
- Pet Insurance Waiting Period Guide • Lemonade: https://www.lemonade.com/pet/explained/waiting-periods/
- Frequently Asked Questions | Healthy Paws (archived copy of www.healthypawspetinsurance.com): http://web.archive.org/web/20260613092710/https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/frequent-questions.html
- Help Center - Comprehensive Pet Insurance and Wellness Plans | Get Odie: https://getodie.com/help-center/
- When does my coverage start? | Trupanion Pet Medical Insurance: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/when-does-my-coverage-begin
- What Waiting Periods Does Embrace Have? | Embrace Pet Insurance Help Center: https://www.embracepetinsurance.com/help/article/what-waiting-periods-does-embrace-have
- What Is the Waiting Period for Orthopedic Conditions? | Embrace Pet Insurance Help Center: https://www.embracepetinsurance.com/help/article/what-is-the-waiting-period-for-orthopedic-conditions
- Pets Best Pet Health Insurance Policy - Accident & Illness (Sample), APIC-PBI0001-ILL (12/2015): https://www.petsbest.com/download.ashx?file=Policies%2FPOL_APIC_1_PETS_PolicyBookletAnnualIllness_Sample_v1.pdf
- Waiting Period Health Assessment Form (03/2025): https://www.petsbest.com/download.ashx?file=misc%2FPets_Best_Waived_Waiting_Periods_Form.pdf
- Figo Sample Policy - Dog (08/01/2023): https://assets.ctfassets.net/wcjeikrx8553/2D7uiYmiwcmvk6PlNsHptw/dda1584912b94bd24f0d8467abc69d46/Figo_Sample_Policy_-_Dog_-_08012023.pdf
- California Insurer Disclosure of Important Policy Provisions | Figo Pet Insurance: https://figopetinsurance.com/california-insurer-disclosure-of-important-policy-provisions
- Pet Health Insurance Policy Terms and Conditions, GPTM 050 0125 A (Sample Policy): https://cdn.prod.website-files.com/664b8c1e077f005566b9425c/68add0656ed7a71438bc8baa_GPTM%20050%20(v2)%200125%20A%20-%20Sample%207.24.25.pdf
- Compare ASPCA Pet Health Insurance vs. Trupanion: https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/research-and-compare/compare-plans/competitors/trupanion/
- Important Policy Notice to California Residents: https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/more-info/notice-to-california-residents/
- Sample Policy - Spot Pet Insurance (Accident & Illness Policy, PET-P-20000-1024): https://spotpet.com/spot-sample-policy.pdf
- Waiting Period Health Assessment Form - Spot Pet Insurance (California): https://spotpet.com/Spot-California-Waiting-Period-Health-Assessment-Form.pdf
- Accident and Illness Coverage - Sample Policy (PET-P-20000-0920): https://pumpkin-assets.s3.amazonaws.com/pdfs/Sample_Policy_AccidentIllness.pdf
- Notice to Washington Residents | Pumpkin Pet Insurance: https://www.pumpkin.care/legal/notice-to-washington-residents
- Get Covered: Pet Insurance With No Waiting Period | MetLife Pet Insurance: https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/blog/pet-insurance/no-waiting-period/
- Accident & Injury Pet Insurance: https://www.petinsurance.com/whats-covered/accident-only-pet-insurance/
- Hip Dysplasia Pet Insurance Coverage: https://www.petinsurance.com/whats-covered/hip-dysplasia-pet-insurance/
- Nationwide Pet Insurance Plan Restrictions | Excluded Conditions: https://www.petinsurance.com/plan-restrictions/
- Pet Health Conditions - Lemonade: https://www.lemonade.com/pet/explained/pet-health-conditions/
- The Ultimate Lemonade Pet FAQ • Lemonade Insurance: https://www.lemonade.com/pet/explained/lemonade-pet-insurance-faq/
- Odie Pet Insurance Marketing, Inc. - Sample Unexpected Illness and Injuries Policy: https://getodie.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/SAMPLE_Odie_Unexpected-Illness-and-Injuries-Policy.pdf
- Do we cover cruciate surgeries for pets? | Trupanion: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/cruciate-surgeries
- Does Trupanion cover pre-existing conditions? | Trupanion FAQs: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/pre-existing-conditions
- Pet Insurance For Pre-Existing Conditions | Embrace Pet Insurance: https://www.embracepetinsurance.com/coverage/pre-ex-conditions
- Pet Insurance for Pets with Pre-Existing Conditions | Pets Best: https://www.petsbest.com/coverage/pre-existing-coverage
- Bilateral Conditions: Are They Covered? | MetLife Pet Insurance: https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/blog/pet-insurance/bilateral-conditions/
- Pet Insurance & Pre-Existing Conditions | MetLife Pet Insurance: https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/pre-existing-conditions/
- Pet Insurance | What's Not Covered | Pre-Existing Conditions & More: https://www.petinsurance.com/whats-not-covered/
- Orthopedic Conditions in Dogs - Lemonade: https://www.lemonade.com/pet/explained/orthopedic-conditions-in-dogs/
- Pet Insurance Terms, Explained • Lemonade: https://www.lemonade.com/pet/explained/pet-insurance-terms-explained/
- What's a Pet Insurance Deductible? | Lemonade: https://www.lemonade.com/pet/explained/pet-insurance-deductible/
- Pet Insurance for Cats | Healthy Paws (archived copy of www.healthypawspetinsurance.com): http://web.archive.org/web/20260613084852/https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/cat-insurance.html
- Is my pet eligible for pet insurance? | Trupanion: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/is-your-pet-eligible
- Pet Insurance Coverage, Redefined | Trupanion: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance
- How our payouts work | Trupanion: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/unlimited-payouts-plan
- Dog and Puppy Insurance Plans & Coverage | Embrace: https://www.embracepetinsurance.com/dog-insurance
- Embrace Pet Insurance Coverage | Frequently Asked Questions: https://www.embracepetinsurance.com/coverage/faq
- Frequently Asked Questions | Pets Best Pet Insurance: https://www.petsbest.com/faq
- Dog Insurance | Figo Pet Insurance For Dogs And Puppies: https://figopetinsurance.com/dog-insurance
- Pet Insurance in Illinois | Figo Pet Insurance: https://figopetinsurance.com/locations-Illinois
- Pet Insurance in Florida | FIGO Pet Insurance: https://figopetinsurance.com/locations-florida
- Annual coverage limit | Fetch Pet Insurance (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20251108041300/https://www.fetchpet.com/faqs/annual-coverage-limit
- What is a Pet Insurance Deductible? | Fetch® FAQs (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20251209140419/https://www.fetchpet.com/faqs/what-is-pet-insurance-deductible
- Can I Customize My Pet Insurance Plan? | Fetch® FAQs (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20251116065226/https://www.fetchpet.com/faqs/can-i-customize-my-pet-insurance-plan
- The Best Senior Dog Insurance | ASPCA Pet Health Insurance: https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/senior-dog-insurance/
- Dog Insurance Plans | ASPCA Pet Health Insurance: https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/dog-insurance/
- Pet Insurance FAQs: Common Questions Answered | Spot Pet Insurance: https://spotpet.com/commonly-asked-questions
- How Annual Limits Work and Why They Matter | Spot Pet Insurance: https://spotpet.com/blog/why-pet-insurance/what-is-an-annual-limit-in-pet-insurance
- Pet Insurance Deductibles Explained: Annual vs. Per-Incident in 2025 | Spot Pet Insurance: https://spotpet.com/blog/why-pet-insurance/deductibles-in-pet-insurance
- Top-Rated Dog Insurance plans by Pumpkin | Pumpkin Pet Insurance: https://www.pumpkin.care/dog-health-insurance
- Puppy Insurance From MetLife Pet | Get Award-Winning Coverage: https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/dog-insurance/puppy/
- Coverage and Exclusions | MetLife Pet Insurance: https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/coverage-exclusions/
- Pet Insurance Plans | MetLife Pet: https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/plans/
- Pet Insurance FAQs | MetLife Pet Insurance: https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/faqs/
- Pet Insurance Plans for Dogs, Cats & Exotic Pets | Nationwide: https://www.petinsurance.com/all-products/
- Lemonade's Pet Insurance Add-Ons, Explained • Lemonade: https://www.lemonade.com/pet/explained/lemonade-pet-add-ons/
- Pet Insurance Coverage | Healthy Paws Pet Insurance (archived copy of www.healthypawspetinsurance.com): http://web.archive.org/web/20260323175608/https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/pet-insurance-coverage-and-exclusions.html
- Pet Insurance for Dental | Healthy Paws (archived copy of www.healthypawspetinsurance.com): http://web.archive.org/web/20260713182815/https://www.healthypawspetinsurance.com/pet-insurance-coverage-and-exclusions/dental-health.html
- What does a Trupanion pet insurance policy cover? | Trupanion FAQ: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/what-a-trupanion-policy-covers
- How we Work with Veterinarians | Trupanion Vet Direct Pay: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance/veterinarians
- Dental insurance for pets | Trupanion Coverage: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/dental
- Does Trupanion cover prescription pet food? | Trupanion FAQs: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/prescription-pet-foods
- Pet insurance recovery & complementary care | Trupanion: https://www.trupanion.com/pet-insurance-faq/article/recovery-complementary-care
- What Is the Reimbursement Process for Embrace Claims? | Embrace Pet Insurance Help Center: https://www.embracepetinsurance.com/help/article/what-is-the-reimbursement-process-for-embrace-claims
- Embrace Pet Insurance Coverage | Dental Coverage: https://www.embracepetinsurance.com/coverage/dental-coverage
- Pet Insurance Plans | Pets Best: https://www.petsbest.com/plans
- Vet Direct Pay | Pets Best: https://www.petsbest.com/vet-direct-pay
- Pet Insurance Terms, Explained (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20250917164646/https://www.fetchpet.com/pet-insurance-terms
- Pet Insurance Reimbursement | How Does it Work? | Fetch® (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20251104212815/https://www.fetchpet.com/claims/reimbursement
- Pet Dental Insurance for Dogs & Cats | Fetch® Covers Dental (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20251114140353/https://www.fetchpet.com/pet-insurance/dental-coverage
- Does Pet Insurance Cover Prescription Food? | Fetch® FAQs (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20251205103754/https://www.fetchpet.com/faqs/does-pet-insurance-cover-prescription-food
- Does Pet Insurance Cover Anxiety Medication? | Fetch® FAQs (archived copy of www.fetchpet.com): https://web.archive.org/web/20251208152105/https://www.fetchpet.com/faqs/does-pet-insurance-cover-anxiety-medication
- Veterinarian FAQs | ASPCA Pet Health Insurance: https://vet.aspcapetinsurance.com/faqs/
- What Does Pet Insurance Cover? | ASPCA Pet Health Insurance: https://www.aspcapetinsurance.com/research-and-compare/pet-insurance-basics/whats-covered/
- Does Pet Insurance Cover Dental? | Spot Pet Insurance: https://spotpet.com/blog/why-pet-insurance/does-pet-insurance-cover-dental
- MetLife Pet Insurance Sample Policy (PET21-01-V, OH): https://www.metlifepetinsurance.com/content/dam/metlifecom/us/MetLife-MetGen-Pet-Insurance-Policy-Sample-1.pdf
- America's #1 Emergency Pet Insurance: https://www.petinsurance.com/whats-covered/emergency-pet-insurance/
- Nationwide® Pet Insurance FAQ | What's Covered, How it Works & Claims: https://www.petinsurance.com/faq/
Frequently asked questions
What is a bilateral condition clause?
A bilateral condition clause treats a condition affecting paired body parts, most often the cruciate ligament, hip, elbow, or kneecap, as pre-existing on both sides once it shows up on one. Eleven of the 13 insurers in this index confirm a bilateral clause, most commonly for cruciate ligament events, hip and elbow dysplasia, and luxating patellas.
What is a curable pre-existing condition window?
It is the length of time a pet must stay symptom-free and treatment-free after a prior illness or injury before an insurer will stop treating it as pre-existing. Ten of the 13 insurers confirm such an exception, and 9 of those state the window, most commonly 180 days or 12 months. Nearly all of them exclude ligament, knee, and chronic conditions from it.
Why do orthopedic waiting periods differ from illness waiting periods?
Orthopedic and cruciate conditions, such as ligament tears and hip dysplasia, can take longer to reveal a pre-existing history than a typical illness, so insurers commonly extend the waiting period specifically for them. Of the 12 insurers whose policies state both figures, 8 set a longer orthopedic waiting period than illness waiting period.
Which insurers pay the vet directly?
Only 2 of the 13 insurers in this index, Trupanion and Pumpkin, confirm they can pay the veterinarian directly. Odie confirms it can do so only where it already has a payment arrangement with that specific clinic. The remaining 10 insurers operate on a reimbursement model: you pay the vet, then file a claim.
Are exam fees covered?
It depends on the insurer. Six of the 13, Fetch, ASPCA, Spot, Pumpkin, MetLife, and Nationwide, include exam fees in the base plan. Five, including Lemonade, Odie, Embrace, Pets Best, and Figo, cover them only through an optional add-on. Two, Healthy Paws and Trupanion, do not cover exam fees at all.
How current is this index?
Every value in this index was accessed on September 5, 2026, directly from each insurer's own website, help center, or sample policy document, and checked in two independent passes. The index is reviewed quarterly, and terms can change between reviews, so confirm anything material against the insurer's current policy before you buy.
Advertising Disclosure: CheckItAll.net is an independent comparison site. We may receive compensation when you click links or sign up with partners featured on our site. This compensation may affect how and where products appear on this site. Our opinions are our own. Read our full disclosure.